Dozens of late entries into Kitchener, Waterloo municipal elections

A week ago, the mayoral races in Kitchener and Waterloo looked to be ho-hum events as there was only one candidate in Waterloo and one challenger to Berry Vrbanovic in Kitchener, but oh how things have changed.

Over the past week, Dorothy McCabe, Kypp Saunders and Rob Evans joined Shannon Weber in the Waterloo race to replace outgoing Mayor Dave Jaworsky in Waterloo.

read more:

Another familiar name enters 2022 Cambridge municipal election — Jim Karahalios

Meanwhile, in Kitchener, it has become a five-way race with Val Neekman, Rehman-Ullah Kahn and Milos Sokollu Posavljak entering the fray alongside Manikantan Nair as challengers to Vrbanovic.

There were new candidates declaring in nearly every race across the two cities, including for regional chair as Karen Redman now faces challenges from Narine Dat Sookram and Brendon John Da Costa.

Story continues below advertisement

read more:

Ontario municipal candidate nominations close ahead of fall elections

Below is an unofficial list of the candidates for the 2022 Kitchener and Waterloo municipal elections as posted to the city’s websites (x denotes incumbent):

Kitchener mayor
Rehman-Ullah Kahn
Manikantan Nair
Val Neekman
Milos Sokollu Posavlyak
Berry Vrbanovic x

Kitchener Ward 1
Alan Becirević
Scott Davey
Prashant Deol
Simon Guthrie

Kitchener Ward 2
Derrick Rabethge
Dave Schnider x
Asher Shazad

Kitchener Ward 3
Rosanne Berwick x
Jason Denault
Matthew Griffin
Devon Harnarian
Marijo Howard
Bryan Richardson

Kitchener Ward 4
Ali Akbar
Christine Michaud
John Vandonk

Kitchener Ward 5
Ajmer Mandur
John Massimi
Farah Muhammad
Naveed Najmuddin
Ayo Owodunni

Kitchener Ward 6
Anwar Arkani
Paul Singh

Kitchener Ward 7
Bill Ioannidis
Colin Maley
Kevin Mcrea

Kitchener Ward 8
Aleena Aftab
Margaret Johnston x

Kitchener Ward 9
Debbie Chapman x
David Redman
Brooklin Wallis
Alex Shevchenko

Kitchener Ward 10
Aislinn Clancy
peter davis
Daniel Fife
Stephanie Stretch
Lana Hiscock

Story continues below advertisement

Waterloo regional chair
Karen Redman x
Narine Dat Sookram
Brendon John DaCosta

Waterloo regional councilor Kitchener (four elected)
Heather Caron
Robert Deutschman
Joe Gowing
Michael Harris x
Tom Hillier
Colleen James
Soo Bok Lee
Duncan Maclean
Michael Parkinson
Iffat Sultana Riasat
Matt Rodrigues
Kari Williams

WRDSB trustees Kitchener (four elected)
Stephen Adaran
Barb Chrysler
Claus Derisma
Julia Dunham
Ahmed Kasad
David Kuhn
Natasha Miklos
Jeff Musgrave
Maedith Radlein
Mike Ramsey x
Rachel Liley
Natasha Rolleman
Tara Ross
Laurie Tremble x
Meena Wasem
Joanne Weston x

WCDSB trustees Kitchener/Wilmot (four elected)
Wendy Ashby
Simone Beacage
Kathy Doherty Masters
Dasiusz Grabka
Renee Kraft
Julie Molenaar
Tracy Weiler x
Hadembes Yebetit

Waterloo mayor
Shannon Weber
Dorothy McCabe
Kypp Saunders
Rob Evans

Waterloo Ward 1
Sandra Hanmer x
Robert Parent

Waterloo Ward 2
Royce Bodaly x
Khaled Berbash
Shaheen Mujahid

Waterloo Ward 3
Hans Roach
Madelaine Steiss

Waterloo Ward 4
Diane Freeman x
Obinna Obi
Maryssa Barras

Waterloo Ward 5
Jen Vasic x
Blayr Hogg
Bob (Obie) Oberholtzer
Joe Burner

Waterloo Ward 6
Matthew Nicholas Black
Karen Fischer
Mason Fitzpatrick
Jonathan Cassels
Mary Lou Roe

Story continues below advertisement

Waterloo Ward 7
Julie Wright
Bruce Polan

Regional councilors Waterloo (two to be elected)
Jim Erb x
John Vieth
Peter Neufeld
Gord Greavette
Jim Bolger
Cindy Watkins
Chantal Huinink
James Ball

WRDSB trustees Waterloo / Wilmot (three to be elected)
Scott Piatkowski x
George Smith
Martin Mirt
Cristina Bairos Fernandes
Marie Snyder
Kathleen Woodcock x
Franklin Ramsoomair
Wendy Woodhall
Madan Dheer
Alisa McClurg

WCDSB Waterloo / Wellesley / Woolwich (two to be elected)
Linda Cuff
Sally Fuentes

© 2022 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Comments are closed.